The Society for Theatre Research

Research Awards

2016 Awards Applications
Please see the guidance notes on the how to apply page before applying.
The closing date for application submissions is Friday March 25th, 2016

Paul Iles Bequest

In addition to the Research Awards, which are wholly and exclusively for research into aspects of the British Theatre, the Society has received a substantial bequest from the late Paul Iles. The terms of the bequest state only that it is to be used "specifically for research awards in the area of Australian theatre". Initial declarations of interest and outline proposals are invited from interested persons. [read more]

The Society has established its own research fund. The capital includes bequests from the estates of Stephen Joseph, Anthony Denning and Kathleen Barker. Awards may be made annually of sums ranging from 200 to 1,000, as contributions to the cost of research which is substantially concerned with the history and practice of the British theatre.

Private scholars, theatre professionals, academic staff, and students, of any nationality, are welcome to apply for Awards to help with such endeavours as the completion of work in progress; professional training in research techniques to assist established projects; a subvention towards the publication of completed work in which a publisher is already seriously interested.

The Society has now made grants in excess of 106,050 to 241 recipients since the first awards in 1988.

The 2015 Research Awards were announced at the Society's Annual General Meeting in May . See the list of winners here.