Waterloo Bridge Celebrations

Sunday 18th June 2017, 2.30pm The Bridewell Hall, London EC4Y 8EQ | map You are invited to join us to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the opening of the original Waterloo … Continue reading

Stage Manager Wins Theatre Book Prize

The Society’s annual Book Prize has gone to a former National Theatre Stage Manager for her account of the exceptional circumstances in which the National Theatre mounted a production of Fernando … Continue reading

STR Theatre Book Prize Short List

The judges have announced their short list for this year’s Theatre Book Prize for books published in 2016. They range from a record of the strange goings on in National Theatre … Continue reading

Welcome to LIBRARY!

Ever since the merger of the New Cavendish Club with the ‘In and Out’, which was not felt to be a suitable replacement, we have been on the lookout for a … Continue reading

Entry now closed for STR Theatre Book Prize

Entry of books published in 2016 for the STR Theatre Book Prize has now closed. The judges have received a bumper crop this year – the full list of entries, with … Continue reading

LECTURE: Dame Monica Mason OBE

7th February 2017, 7:30pm: Swedenborg Hall, London WC1A 2TH | map Presented by Dame Monica Mason Dame Monica Mason, former director of the Royal Ballet, will be joined by Dr Jane … Continue reading

LECTURE: The Censorship of British Drama, 1960-1968

8th March 2017, 7:30pm: Swedenborg Hall, London WC1A 2TH | map Presented by Dr Steve Nicholson Between the passing of the Theatres Act in 1737 and its abolition in 1968, every … Continue reading

LECTURE: A Whistle-Stop Tour of Amateur Theatricals in Nineteenth Century Britain

6th April 2017, 7:30pm: Swedenborg Hall, London WC1A 2TH | map Presented by David Coates Amateur theatre is flourishing in twenty-first century Britain, and indisputably contributes significantly to our theatrical landscape. … Continue reading

LECTURE: A Life on Stage: A talk by Dame Siân Phillips*

16th May 2017, public entry at 8.15pm (following the AGM at 7pm): Art Workers’ Guild, London WC1N 3AT | map Presented by Dame Siân Phillips Siân Phillips is an award winning … Continue reading

Judges announced for Theatre Book Prize

The Society for Theatre Research is pleased to announce the judges for this year’s Theatre Book Prize. They are actress, director and author Nichola McAuliffe, critic, academic and author Aleks Sierz … Continue reading

Research Awards: 2016 Winners

Awards totalling £4800 were announced at the Society’s Annual General Meeting in May 2016, which included £500 from the Craig Fund, and £200 from the President’s Fund. NAMED RESEARCH AWARDS The … Continue reading

LECTURE: “Quick, Clean, Smart & Bright”: The Broadhead Theatres in Manchester

Thursday 12th January 2017, 7:30pm: Swedenborg Hall, London WC1A 2TH | map Presented by Dr. Victoria Garlick “Quick, Clean, Smart and Bright” was the motto of the Broadhead theatre circuit. Developed … Continue reading