The Society for Theatre Research

STR Theatre Book Prize

STR Theatre Book Prize 2013 - Short list Announed

The Society for Theatre Research and the judges are pleased to announce the following short list for the Theatre Book Prize for books published in 2013 (in alphabetical order):

The National Theatre Story
by Daniel Rosenthal (Oberon)

The Other National Theatre: 350 Years of Shows in Drury Lane
by Robert Whelan (Jacob Tonson)

Speaking the Speech
by Giles Block (Nick Hern Books)

Stage Blood
by Michael Blakemore (Faber & Faber)

Wooden Os: Shakspeare's Theatres and England's Trees
by Vin Nardizzi (University of Toronto Press)

The winner of the Theatre Book Prize will be announced and the prize presented by Maureen Lipman CBE on Friday 9th May at a reception at the Val Parnell Suite at the London Palladium, when the judges will speak about the books.

With titles from two specialist theatre-publishers, a main-line publisher with a drama list, an overseas academic publisher, and a small independent press, and from historical overviews to personal memoir, technique of performance and esoteric study, the short list conveniently demonstrates the range of books submitted for the prize. A full list of titles submitted, with links giving information about all the books, can be found here.

Press contact and to request invitations to the prizr presentation on Friday 9 May at 2.30pm: Howard Loxton

STR Theatre Book Prize 2013 - List of Entries

The full list of entries can be found here.

About the Judges

Kate Bassettá is a journalist and theatre critic who has worked as theatre critic foráThe Times, the Daily Telegraph and most recently the Independent on Sunday as well as contributing to many other publications and featuring regularly on BBC Radio 3's Night Waves and On Air.
She has chaired or been a judge on a number of theatre award panels and hosts and takes part in platform talks at the National Theatre and elsewhere.
In 2013 her book In Two Minds: A Biography of Jonathan Miller was shortlisted for Theatre Book Prize, the Sheridan Morley Prize for Theatre Biography in 2013 and the HW Fisher Best First Biography Prize.

Charlotte Westenra is a theatre director who has made her mark with productions such as Lower Ninth (Donmar at Trafalgar Studios), Kiss of the Spiderwoman (Donmar Warehouse), Darfur (with Nicholas Kent, Tricycle Theatre), Gladiator Games (Sheffield theatre and theatre Royal Stratford East) and as one of the directors of 66 Books (Bush Theatre).
She is winner of an Olivier Award for Outstanding Achievement as associate director to Nicolas Kent foráBloody Sunday, has been resident assitant director at the Donmar, was associated director to Michael Grandage on Frost/Nixon and Piaf and is an Associate Artist at the Gate Theatre.

Andy Lavender is Professor of Theatre & Performance and Head of the School of Arts at the University of Surrey.
He was previously Dean of Research at Central School of Speech & Drama, University of London.
He is the artistic director of the theatre/performance company Lightwork for which he has dierected many productions. Publications include Hamlet in Pieces: Shakespeare reworked by Peter Brook, Robert Lepage and Robert Wilson and chapters and articles contributed to numerous other books and academic journals.

About the Theatre Book Prize

This prize was established to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the Society for Theatre Research which was founded in 1948. It was first awarded for books published in 1997. Its aim is to encourage the writing and publication of books on theatre history and practice, both those which present the theatre of the past and those which record contemporary theatre for the future. It is presented annually for a book on British or British related theatre which an independent panel of judges considers to be the best published during the year.

All new works of original research first published in English are eligible except for play texts and studies of drama as literature. There are three judges, who are different each year. They are drawn from the ranks of people working in theatre ş performers, directors and others, theatre critics, senior academics concerned with theatre and theatre archivists, with a chairperson who is a member of the committee of the Society for Theatre Research.

Press enquiries and for press invitations contact: Howard Loxton, tel: 020 7267 4513

Previous winners
2012Mr Foote's Other Legáby Ian Kelly (Picador)
2011Covering McKellenáby David Weston (Rickshaw Publishing)
2010The Reluctant Escapologistáby Mike Bradwell (Nick Hern Books)
2009Different Drummer: the Life of Kenneth Macmillanáby Jann Parry (Faber & Faber)
2008Theatreáand Globalisation: Irish Drama in the Celtic Tiger Eraáby Patrick Lonergan (Palgrave Macmillan)
2007State of the Nationáby Michael Billington (Faber & Faber)
2006John Osborne: A Patriot for Usáby John Heilpern (Chatto & Windus)
20051599: A Year in the Life of William Shakespeareáby James Shapiroá (Faber & Faber)
2004Margot Fonteynáby Meredith Daneman (Penguin/Viking)
2003National Serviceáby Richard Eyre (Bloomsbury)
2002A History of Irish Theatreá1601-2000áby Christopher Morash (Cambridge University Press)
2001Reflecting the Audience: London Theatregoing, 1840-1880ábyáJim Davis & Victor Emeljanow (Iowa University Press/University of Hertfordshire Press)
2000Politics, Prudery and Perversion.... Censorship 1906-68áby Nicholas de Jongh (Methuen)
1999Garrickáby Ian McIntyre (Allen Lane)
1998Threads of Timeáby Peter Brook (Methuen)
1997The Life of Margaret Ramsay,áPlay Agentáby Colin Chambersá (Nick Hern)

. .